New Knitter - Casting On in Middle of Row

Hi,

I am pretty new to knitting and am trying to master a Mason Dixon Baby Bib O’ Love. I’ve gotten to where I need to start knitting the two straps.

It says to knit 10, cast on 20, then knit final 10. I’m a self taught knitter and this is throwing me.

Questions - how do the cast on stitches attach back to the bib and how exactly do I cast on in the middle? From what I have read, I need to turn my knitting, right?

Sorry to be dense. I thought this was going to be a really simple project for me (and I’m sure it is!). Just need to understand this casting on in the middle business.

Thanks!

Laura

You can use any of the single cast-ons. It helps to turn your knitting around just for the ease of making the cast on, but turn it back and finish the other side.

It sounds like you’re making a slit, so you wouldn’t want these attached. Did you cast off on the previous row?

Ingrid,

See, that is what I thought - there would be a slit but this is actually at the neck area of the bib where there shouldn’t be a slit.

The pattern reads “K10, CO 20 sts, K final 10 sts. Leave first 10 sts on needle to be knitted later. Turn work, k10 sts until strap is 5 inches long. BO.” The work is 40 sts across.

Laura

I suspect the CO in this case is cast-off. So you’d bind off those stitches.

Oh wow! It all becomes so clear now. Okay, as a newbie, I guess I should have figured that out, right? I just assumed CO was cast on.

Ugh!

Thanks for your help!

Laura

I read it as cast-on at first, too.:shrug:

Well, I just ran and cast off those 20 stitches and it looks exactly right. Waaay different from what I had last night! Seems to me it should have read BO instead of CO.

I might just get this done today after all! Thanks Ingrid.

Laura

Ellgee,