New at Knitting help reading patterns

This is my second day trying to learn how to knit over the internet. I have watched the videos on this website, and it seems pretty easy. My problem is reading the patterns. I would be very grateful if someone would make sure I am reading the below pattern correctly and give me any tips they can. I really don’t have the liberty to take a class, so I am hoping I can get all of my lesson/tips online.

Below is the pattern I am reading, and what I think it means and my questions on reading a pattern ([COLOR=“Blue”]My questions in blue[/COLOR]):

Materials: Worsted weight yarn, about 24 ounces, plus 29” circular needle, size 10½ [COLOR=“blue”](I bought my yarn and needle before I started learning. I knew enough to buy the needle to go with the yarn, but I wasn’t thinking yarn for specific project. I don’t know what kind of yarn I have, but I had to by a 5mm needle. With this just being my first project and just basically getting the hang of knitting, can I use what I have, or is it worth going out any buying the right stuff?)[/COLOR]

Gauge: 4 sts = 1 inch and 14 rows = 2 inches

Directions:
Cast on 4 sts, and knit across. [COLOR=“blue”](This just seems really short to me 4 stitches? I still don’t understand how everything ends up getting wider. I was told that as I knit rows that it only forms the length of the material. Can anyone clarify for me why I would only can on 4 sts?)[/COLOR]

Start pattern: Row 1: Knit 1, knit in front and back of next st, k across.
Repeat this row until 208 sts on needle. (increased by 1 st. each row.) (Does this mean hanging from the needle, if on the needle do I need a special needle for bigger projects? I don’t think my needle will fit 208 sts on it.)

I appreciate any help I can get in learning how to knit.