Need Tips for using Fringe Yarn

Little upset here. :frowning: My LYS told me the fringe tape-like yarn was easy to use and I shouldn’t have any problems. WRONG! I explaind I was a beginner and have only knit about 5 simple projects.

I spent way too much on the fringe yarn in hopes of making a nice shawl for my mom. Does anyone have any tips on knitting with fringe yarn? I would so appreciate anything. In particular, how do you see your stitches on the needle? They seem to blend together or, do you think I could be making them too tight? I am casting on 91 stitches on the long size 10 needles.

Also, I am having a terrible time with the fringe tape yarn curling. Should I worry about that, or does it fix itself?

Thanks so much!!!

Not sure what fringe yarn is… :thinking:

Hi. I’ve seen it but I’ve always heard it referred to as “for decorative purposes only”. I’ve seen people add it to an item also but never as a primary yarn for knitting.

I personally don’t think any of the “novelty” yarns (anything with eyelash hairs, bumps, pieces sticking out!) are good first beginning projects, since, like you’ve mentioned, its very difficult to see the stitches.

It is also difficult to see how you’ve been doing, to pick up dropped stitches, to un-knit, etc.

When I did my first project with this kind of yarn, a dropped stitch or any mistake like that meant (for me) starting over. I couldn’t use icnreases that had the needle going into an already made stitch a row below, because I just couldn’t see any of the stitches.

It is possible you are knitting tightly, its very common at the beginning, but with the type of yarn you have, I think that even if you were knitting at a looser tension, you still would not see the stitches.

I guess its for you to decide how well the project is going, or if you think you can make it.