Need Help with Pattern in New Colour

Hello Everyone,
I am new to knitting and hope that you can help me out.
I am knitting a scarf in black.
I want to add this pattern at both ends (in red):
http://www.breedlist.com/personal/hordesymbol.pdf

I am very confused by how to start knitting in red. All of the videos and instructions I have been able to find only show knitting full rows or blocks in colour - but this pattern just calls for a certain number of stitches in new colour (1 stitch in row 1).
Thank you for any help you can send my way!

oh pretty!

It is as simple as this: just start knititng!

ok so that may be a bit too simple so what i would recomend is tying the end of the new colour (colour B) onto the strand of original yarn (colour A) with a small knot and sliding the knot down so it is close to the knitting … then start knitting with the new colour. When you have to change back to Colour A then just carry it across the back of your work in a loose strand, twist it around colour B so that they are linked togetehr and start knitting away with it.

when you say “twist it around” what does that mean exactly? lol

when you say “twist it around” what does that mean exactly? lol

Bring the new color up from under the old so they wrap. If you don’t do this the transition will be a hole.

cam

Thank you everyone for the help. Can you confirm that I will need to knit one row and purl next - as opposed to garter stitch whole thing? Also, how do you end rows - just twist like the carries? Thank you again, I have barely started this project and am already doubting it - LOL

Depends on whether the pattern calls for garter or stockinette. (yes, I know that’s not really helpful :wink: ) But given that you’re doing a pattern, yeah, “knit row / purl row / repeat” would probably be best – that way, when the scarf’s finished, each ‘square’ of the pattern is the same shape and size.

Also, how do you end rows - just twist like the carries?