Need help with KellyK's dog sweater

Has anyone started this that can help me? I sent Kelly a PM, but she’s not online right now.

I measured my dog (not easy because she didn’t want to stand up) and noted the measurements as best I could get them. I did my gauge swatch. Here’s my questions:

1. Why all the division first of 3 then with 4? I end up with numbers like 2.625 rows per inch and 1.08 stitches per inch. Is that right?

2. At the “knit the collar” section which is first I get 13.08 stitches and then it tells me to CO the next multiple of 4. Huh? Does that mean 16? Will that fit over her head?

The increase for chest is :?? I’m not good at math. I HATE math. And this is a LOT of math. I’m about to give up. :rollseyes:

When she finds gauge, she has you measure your stitches over 4 inches in three different places. Then you divide that total number by 3 for an average gauge over 4 inches. Then you divide by 4 to get an average gauge per inch.

So once you get your true gauge, you should come up with more realistic numbers.

For example, lets say you measured 20, 20.5, 21 stitches over 3 separate sections of your swatch. You’d have a total of 61.5 stitches, which you would divide by 3 for an average gauge of 20.5 st over 4 inches. Divide that by 4 and you’ll have a gauge of 5.1 stitches per inch.

Multiply that number by the number of inches around the dog’s neck and round up to a multiple of 4 for ribbing.

Thanks Ingrid! I see what I was doing wrong! That should help, but what do you do with the odd decimal amounts?

Okay, I figured it out again.

Measurements over 4 inches; 17.5, 17, 18 = 52.5. Divided by 3 = 17.5, divided by 4 = 4.375.

For the collar I get A+gauge = 51.6 stitches
CO the next multiple of 4= 52

Is this correct based on my measurements? I’m feeling like a real doofus right now which is sad because I’ve always considered myself fairly intelligent. :rollseyes: