Need Help with a Newbie Pattern

Hi all - I’m somewhat new to knitting and I’m working on the Lion Brand Microspun Ripple Shawl which, according to the website is a Beginner’s pattern.

Anyway, I have the stitches down - just confused about the pattern.

Essentially, it’s a knit row followed by a purl row but then the pattern reads, K3 *[k2tog]3times, [yo, k1] 6 times, [k2tog] 3 times; repeat from * to last 3 sts, k3

Okay…so here is what I did.

I knit 2 together 3 times

I yarned over knit 6 times

I knit 2 together 3 times

NOW…I’m stuck.

Am I supposed to knit another 2 together 3 more times or am I supposed to yarn over knit 6 times?

Is the end of this cycle really knit 6 together, then yarn over knit 6 times?

Do I have all of you confused as well?

HELP!!!

My understanding is that you repeat from * to ; so you’ll [k2tog]3times, [yo, k1] 6 times, [k2tog] 3 times. Then to repeat, you begin with another another [k2tog]3times, then do the [yo, k1] 6 times, and [k2tog] 3 times; repeating the same set of three directions until there are only three stitches left on the needle. It seems that when youdo the repeat, you will have two of the [k2tog]3times sets right next to each other.

Thanks Rachel. I was getting very confused and was afraid to continue until I had an answer.

You’ve saved me!

You should repeat the pattern between the two asterisks (_) however many times it takes for you to work the 126 stitches left between the border stitches (K3 on each side). From looking at the pattern the last 6 stitches you work before the border stitches should be k2tog 3 times.

Yes, that sounds right. Glad to help :smiley:

Okay another question…