Need help please learning the basic knit stitch. I'm left handed

Hi, I’m just learning how to knit and the kit I bought hoping to help me learn has extremely difficult diagrams. I ended up having to go online and looking videos on how to cast on, which I’m pretty sure I have down pat but it’s the next step of learning the basic knit stitch I’m having extreme difficulty with. I’ve looked up videos and they moved way to fast for me to really see what they were doing. I’m left handed which is making it more difficult because I have to do everything opposite from what I’m told. I’ve even tried doing it right handed and I just can’t figure it out. If anyone has any advice, pointers or anything they can refer to me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for listening!

I went looking for information about left hand knitting, but didn’t find anything that was very clear to me. It is 1:00 a.m. and I can’t keep looking. :eyes: I know you said you have tried right handed, but did you try the Continental method? Some folks say it is easier for lefties. One of my daughters is a leftie and she knits this way. I found a discussion about teaching a left handed person to knit at this link. I thought the bottom comment about adapting Continental for a left handed person to be interesting, and might help. This article in Knittywas also about left handed knitters. There was a link there that was supposed to have more but it didn’t work.

I’m not much help, and I’m sorry about that. I wish someone could show you in person, that would probably be best.

I fyou know a person that is a right hand knitter, ask her to sit in front of you with you facing her. As she casts on you will see the reverse side which is the way left hand people will do it, knits, purls and so on.

Whether you’re left or right handed doesn’t matter. Knitting is knitting and uses both hands pretty much equally (very much equally for Continental).