My First Post here - Greetings and Salutations 🤓

Newbie here! :smiley: This is my “introduction”.

Being someone who tends to jump right into the proverbial deep end of the pool, LOL!, I’ve been starting off by trying to knit lace and/or do lace knitting in cotton thread. I put the “and/or” there because I know that one involves “fancy-work” on both sides and the other uses mainly purl rows on the “wrong” side.

One item I’m working on is an open-work warmer-weather-weight blanket/“throw” for - naturally! - a king-size bed, the other is an attempt to make my sister a lacy warm-weather Pashmina replacement, since she’s moved to a hot climate (Brisbane, Australia - I’m in the Houston, TX area, very similar climate but the seasons are flipped from where she is :wink: ).

Also naturally, for me, I’ve been trying to make up my own pattern, LOL!!! :astonished: So I’ve been scouring the Internet, looking at uncounted numbers of potentially-interesting stitches, and trying-out the most promising. Which, in turn, has been its own education, because some patterns aren’t really compatible with cotton, which doesn’t “give”.

The fiber choice is based upon my intense personal preference for cotton, especially during warm-to-hot weather, i addition to the fact that I’ve been able to get mass quantities on sale. It’s all white, but that suits me, both in and of itself, and for any potential dye-related projects :wink:

I also have numerous other craftsy-type things I like to do, which are not even remotely related to knitting, LOL! :smiley:

So, there is my Intro! :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum! You certainly are jumping in. The projects and ideas sound like fun, however. Let us see photos please as you finish. Enjoy the knitting.

Welcome, welcome!! Sounds like you are ambitious and have lots of energy. Cotton is probably a good choice. I’ve only worked it a tiny bit in making a bath pouf and I didn’t really like it. You’ve encouraged me to give it another try. :grin: