My first ever project

Hi all :slight_smile:

I am extremely new to knitting… a little about me, I’m Nikki, 25 years old and live in London. My mum was always a great knitter, and she taught me the basic stitch years ago. Unfortunately she passed away 2 years ago in September, so I can’t ask her for the help that I desperately need.

I recently found out that we are expecting our first child. We’re so excited, but I would like to start knitting things for her now. I picked up a book the other day and saw a very basic level knitting a rug, so I thought I would use that as my practice project. The book says a “Felted wool yarn such as Dreadlock Wool; apprx 175yds (160m) per 4lb 8oz (2kg) cone. Needles to be 4.5cm knitting needles.”

Well, I’m lost already - I’m sure i’ll pick it all up as I go along, but I think I just need a little help to get my head around this one so that I can learn a I go (that’s usually my best angle to learn things).

I have been looking at some wools, but it says to have a 10cm needle for them chunky ones - so what do I do here? Go for thinner to make them go on 4.5 knitting needle, or go for a bigger needle?

Also, while I’m here I may as well ask, does all wool thickness then need a certain size needle? I never got that in to asking all these questions to my mum when she was around :frowning:

Thank you for any help, and apologise for any stupid sounding questions! :frowning:

Nikki x

Hi Nikki,

No question is stupid if you don’t know the answer. I’m afraid I don’t know the answer in relation to the needles but with regards to wool thickness on the ball bands it always gives you a recommendation for needle size plus a small chart usually above the needles and that tells you what the tension should be. Sometimes you have to change the needle size anyway to get your tension right.

Congratulations of the baby and i’m sure someone who knows what they’re talking about will be along in a minute - what wool are you using?