Magic Loop Help

Hello! I am just learning how to do the magic loop technique and seriously have watched every youtube video out there. I really feel like I am doing exactly what the video is showing but for some strange reason I keep getting this big long strand of yarn every time I finish a side. I am trying to make the neck piece for a sweater. It is 76 stitches in length.

What am I doing wrong??

-One confused new knitter

Welcome to KH. Is your needle long enough? I think 32" is the shortest recommended and longer might be better. It needs to be long enough that you can get the cable holding the stitches you just finished close to the tip of the needle holding the next stitches to be worked. Try snugging up the second and third stitches on the “new” needle tip.

This is called laddering and is common with knitting in the round. With a bit of attention to how the first stitches on a side are worked you can minimize and maybe eliminate it.

Thank you for your quick reply :slight_smile:
My needles are only 29" and it does require a lot of stretching, however, the pattern itself says “ideally use 24 or longer” so I thought I would be okay with 29s but, I will go out and purchase longer needles and see what happens!
Thank you!!

Magic loop is great, I use it all the time. You could try this method: Traveling Loop Method For Magic Loop: One Loop Only You can also knit circularly with two needles. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83vuC-SL1RM You might be interested in trying this method, some people prefer it, I botch it up every time I try. Whatever works for you!

A 24" needle recommendation for magic loop is odd. A needle that length makes me think it was not intended that you do magic loop at all. What pattern are you doing? Could you give us a link please.