Laight Street Lace Pattern - Help please!

Hello

I am a beginner when it comes to knitting and I recently started working on a pretty shawl pattern by Kirsten Kapur.

However, I got stuck a bit and would appreciate some help.

There are 71 stitches cast on.

First 14 rows are garter stitch - so far so good.

Then the pattern doesn’t seem to match the number of stitches unless i’m missing something. It goes:

Set up:
RS: k4,*k4, yo, k2tog, yo, sk2p, yo, ssk, yo, k5, repeat from * to last 3 stiches, k3

If i’m correct, this means that i’ll have to repeat the sequence 3 full times, then start a 4th and finish half way because I only have 71 stitches- isn’t this wrong?

The pattern then continues with a purl row that repeats every time on the WS. The RS, however, is the problem as the number of stitches and the repeats simply dont match!

Lace:
R1: K4, *k2, (k2tog, yo) twice, k3, (yo, ssk) twice, k3; repeat from *, k2 (k2tog, yo) twice, k3, (yo, ssk) twice, k6.

Now, the repeat sequence is 20 stitches. It says I should work the repeats in each row 3 times. So this means 4 + 20 + 20 + 20 + 24 =88 stitches, which is impossible, so I need to cut one of the repeats short? I find this really confusing as I am not sure what to do. As i work my way with the next rows, same thing happens.

R3: K4, *k1, (k2tog, yo) twice, k5, (yo, ssk) twice, k2; repeat from *, k1, (k2tog, yo) twice, k5, (yo, ssk) twice, k5

Could someone advise me on how to approach this? Thanks.

Welcome!
As I count the repeat, there are 16 sts per repeat. Four repeats (64sts) plus 4 plus 3sts equals the 71sts you cast on. Make sure that you’re counting the yarn overs correctly. They won’t use a stitch but will occur between two sts.

The next section under “Lace” also has a 16st repeat, not 20. Repeating this 3 times plus 19 plus 4sts is 71sts.