Lace stitches are tight

This is my first time knitting laceweight lace and I am finding my stitches are pretty darn tight on the needle. They are still ok to knit with but sure don’t slide very nicely along needle. I am not a particularly tight knitter so I am assuming it is a combination of the yarn (Elann’s Baby Silk-80% baby alpaca/ 20% silk) and the needles (Brittany’s - I ONLY use wood) or could the YOs be doing it or??? Is it just the way things are when lace knitting? Do you lace knitters have any advise (other than change my needles)? I am willing to accept this if this is the price I pay for using wood but if I am doing something to create this, I would love to know about it.

my limited experience with lace led me to believe it’s usually looser than plain knitting. That might just be me though.

Are you having trouble with ALL the stitches, or specific ones? I know sometimes like, k2togs, or similar can be difficult, with blunt needles. I wouldn’t think YO’s would cause it, unless you’re knitting them twisted, which wouldn’t give you the hole a YO is supposed to make.

For sure the stitches once made are loose - the lace is looking great and I’m excited! The drag I’m experiencing is when I’m trying to slide 100+ stitches en mass along the needle.

Oh, I would think that’s from the needle then. haha. If it’s really a problem, and you don’t want to get new, slick metal needles, maybe you could that trick where you rub something like wax paper on the needles, to smooth them out?

It would be the needles.

Definitely.
Wood needles grip yarn to keep it from slipping too much.

I can’t use wooden needles at all, because I’m a tight knitter.