Lace pattern with stitches that don't add up?

Hi!
I wouldn’t say i am a beginner knitter but i have yet to try doing lace. So yesterday i grab my knitting bible and look up some nice lace patterns to try. I picked a vine zig zag lace. It says to cast on a multiple of 10 sts plus one. so i cast on 11. Now i know how to work all the terms, or at least i thought i did because i was stuck at row 1, which is as follows
Row 1 (RS) K1, k2tog, k4, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k1 rep to end
now it all makes as the two dec balance out the two yo, but then i get to the ssk and find that i need an extra 2 sts on my left needle to work the ssk then the k1. When i count my sts it adds up to 11 but i must be doing something wrong as I’ve tried another pattern and had the same problem of needing extra sts to complete the row.
Can anyone explain this to me? please.
Thank you so much!

Hmmmmmmmm…I do get 11 stitches when I count…

Row 1 (RS) K1, k2tog, k4, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k1 rep to end
1 1 4 1 1 1 1 1

The part in the * *s gives you 10 stitches total. Are you doing the SSK correctly - that should be using only two stitches. Please don’t think I’m questioning your abilities, just trying to figure out where the miscounting is coming from!

Does this help at all? How many stitches are you casting on?

Yeah i know exactly what you’re saying because when i count it it adds up to 11 in total too but this is what im doing.
11 sts on left needle
k1 10sts on left needle 1 sts on right needle 11sts in total
k2tog 8sts on left needle 2sts on right needle 10 sts total
k4 4sts on left needle 6sts on right needle 10sts total
yo 3sts on left needle 8sts on right needle 11sts total
k1 2sts on left needle 9 sts on right needle 11 sts total
yo 1sts on left needle 11 sts on right needle 12 sts total

then i’m stuck… what am i doing wrong? am i being silly? i shouldn’t be left with 1 sts to do a ssk and a k1…? when i see the chart it makes sense but then when i’m working it as above i screw up…