Knitting two socks simultaneously

Although I am a beginner and have never made socks before, this section from the Reader’s Digest Knitter’s Handbook by Montse Stanley intrigued and confused me:

"…it is quite possible to work them at the same time, one inside the other…

With two balls of yarn:
a) cast on alternately one stitch from each ball until you have enough stitches for both tubes. Make sure that the two yarns do not get tangled.
b) Work each stitch with the yarn it was cast on with. You can either work all rounds with two yarns… or work one round with one yarn and the next with the other - each time slip purl-wise the stitches not being worked. If the two tubes are in stockinette stitch, knitting the outside tube and purling the inside tube helps to differentiate the two layers.

Gauge is likely to be looser than in one-layer work. Check it, and use finer needles if necessary."

Has anyone here actually tried this? I just can’t imagine it, I guess I’d have to try it myself. It sounds like it would be awkward, but then again I keep hearing so many of you complaining of “second sock syndrome”, and this way would seem to eliminate that.

Check out this article on knitty about that very thing…
I have never been brave enough to try it myself!
Libbie :slight_smile:

THat looks so cool.I myself have never made socks. Something about spending all that time on something just to have people walk around on it kindof bugs me. I love to knit mitts though and i often get SMS or Second Mitt Syndrome. I wonder if I could use that for Mitts? IT looks hard but it would be really cool if you could pull it off.

lots of people have done… but its like a hat trick…

one mistake and your socks are interlocked… and its it hard to get the gauge right–there are easier ways to make 2 socks at a time… (2 on 2 circs for one!)

you can also knit socks in the round on straight needles (2 at a time on 2 straight needles…

use the simple double knit stitch,