Knitting technique clarification

So, I’m basically a mostly self taught knitter. I’ve not knit on a super consistent basis but I do enjoy it quite a bit.

My question is this:

I love to knit with small needles, but I tend to have a problem with keeping the stitches “small” … I’m wondering if this is due to my technique? I want to be a faster knitter so I knit continentally. When you stitch the needle in the stitch and then slip it back out, SHOULD the needles be touching, or do you think it matters if they are not quite touching?

I noticed that when I do keep them touching, my stitches are very tight, but if I don’t, it seems like they might be too loose. I do tension gauges and I use the needles suggested for the weight of the yarn or smaller.

For instance, right now I am knitting DK weight with size 2 circs.

It doesn’t matter when I’m making a blanket but it will when I am making socks - which I intend to do for my husband in the next few days.

Welcome to the forum!
I am a loose knitter so I too tend to work on smaller needles than a pattern or ballband recommends. I slide the needles past each other so they are touching because I can get an even tension that way.
It may matter more that you tension the yarn with your left hand so that after the stitch is formed and slid onto the barrel of the needle, there’s even pressure on the yarn strand.

1 Like