Knitting straight or circular

Hello,
I’m always looking at free patterns and since I’m a beginner, I only knit with straight needles. (so far) So when I see a nice pattern and it calls for circular needles, I’m disappointed.

Question: If it calls for circular needles, can it be done as well with my straight ones? If so, what would be done different?

Thanks
Pauline

If I see a pattern for straight needles I use circulars. I think I only have one set of straights, but never use them.

To answer your question though… It depends on the pattern. If it’s something that is knit flat it can usually be done on straights. If it’s knit in the round it requires some type of circular or DPN to knit in the round. Some patterns like a blanket that is knit in one piece really are best on circulars because off the number of stitches.

You can usually find a comparable pattern knit in the method you prefer which is preferable to altering a pattern especially for a beginner.

Thanks, Jan. I guess the best solution is for me to learn to use my circular needles. I do have some. Now let me go and find a good video for this…:out:

Knitting with circulars is basically the same. One thing that trips new users up is accidentally joining in the round when knitting flat or knitting inside out when knitting in the round.

If you’re knitting flat just make sure your working yarn is coming from the left needle just like when you use straights. If your yarn is on the “wrong” end just slide it to the other needle.

If you’re knitting in the round you will be working on the outside of the circle/tube of knitting. There are multiple methods of knitting in the round. Personally I use magic loop, but I’ve used them all.
http://tutorials.knitpicks.com/wptutorials/?s=Knitting+in+the+round&submit.x=7&submit.y=11&submit=Search