Knitting Rage!

Hello everyone,

I’m new to knitting and I’m determined to make it work. I know how to do all the stitches and I’m currently still only knitting cloths etc to perfect this.

Tonight I have experienced my latest bout of knitting RAGE! I’ve unravelled my knitting and thrown it across the room, and even tossed the cat of my lap! :gah: My problem is always the same, I’m knitting away and I realise that I’m knitting instead of purling or the other way around. But I have no idea how to unknit or unpurl a stitch. I always end up dropping stitches or getting them all mixed up (or throwing my knitting across the room).

Can someone tell me how I can unknit and unpurl please?

Thanks in advance!

hello.

Firstly i am going to say don’t get to stressed by your knitting, remember it is supposed to be and enjoyable hobby. Secondly i couldnt agree more, sometimes knitting rage does happen. There is a very tangled skein of yarn that has been living under our sofa for several months now and won’t be allowed out until it as thought about what it has done. It got flung there.

now for the un-knitting. The quickest technique, especially if you have a lot of stitches (several rows) to undo is frogging, or ripping somthing out. that means you take you take out your needles and literally unravel the knitting. You don’t have to go all the wayy back to the start, you can stop at a correct row and reinsert the needle into the loops. Ifind that a bit tricky somtimes so a very usefull method is to reinsert a needle into the ‘destination’ row before you start ripping and the yarn will stop there with the loops magically on the needles the right way!