Knitting question

I am knitting a scarf and there are instructions that I do not understand.
round 1 had me k1, 2 yo, k1
round 2 is asking me to k1, let yo slide off the needle, sl1p wyib, pulling st up. What does pulling st up?

[QUOTE=speed1;1385701]I am knitting a scarf and there are instructions that I do not understand.
round 1 had me k1, 2 yo, k1
round 2 is asking me to k1, let yo slide off the needle, sl1p wyib, pulling st up. What does pulling st up?
I have never heard of pulling stitch up. Please help

Hi and welcome!
When you drop the double yo on round 2 you’ll find that there is extra yarn in the slip stitch which is from the double yarn over. Pull up on that slipped stitch a bit (don’t pull it tightly) to take up the slack yarn. I think by the time you’ve finished the row or even the next few rows, you’ll see the effect of the pulled stitch. Do you have a pattern link or pattern name? It would be fun for us to see what the pattern looks like.

Hi! I am a beginner and I thought I chose something rather easy. I think I was wrong. I might even be knitting the same scarf as member speed1. Anyway, after knitting the 6th row: K1, 2 yo, K1 then repeat… I am now at the 7th row and the instructions read: K1, let yo slide off the needle, sl1p wyib, pulling st up. I understand the instructions, but when I drop the yo and sl 1p wyib, I’m at the yo stitches again but I’m supposed to knit 1. How can I knit one if I have the two yarn overs as the next stitches? I am so frustrated!
best regards from norther germany

Welcome to Knitting Help!
Hmm, it might be that you knit into the next yarn over (it’s essentially one big yarn over), creating a hole or large eyelet. Can you give us a link to the pattern or a pattern name? Even if we can only see a photo of the scarf, it may help.

Hi! Thanks for the quick reply. here’s the link to the pdf. Thanks so very much!!!
click

k1, drop yo’s, slip foll st pwise with yarn
behind the work and pull st long, rep from * cont.