Knitting pattern not in rows?

Hello,

I’m a complete noob to knitting so thanks for your patience if I’m just being a stupid idiot o_0

Basically I have this knitting pattern and I’ve mastered the different stitches, casting on off, knitting together etc. I just can’t work out this pattern!! It seems to make no sense of the English language let alone numbers adding up :confused:

It goes (this part is for the body of a reindeer by the way):
a. Using coffee wool to cast on 15 stitches, then make 15 purl stitches. (With you so far).
b. After make 4 knit stitches, make 1 knit in front and back. Repeat the step 3 times, the total 18 stitches.
c. Follow the same steps until the total stitches count 33.
d. Make 33 knit stitches, then make 33 purl stitches, repeat 3 times.
e. After make 9 knit stitches, make 1 knit next 2 stitches together.
f. Follow the same steps until the total stitches count 18.
g. After knitting 18 stitches, cast off.

The Internet naturally is of no help, only explaining how to follow rows (which would be fantastic here!!)

Thank you!!! :muah:

Welcome to KnittingHelp and knitting!

I can see how the instructions could get confusing if you’re new to this whole business. Heck - I’m confused myself after trying to write out the instructions!

Do you have a link to the pattern that we can see? I’m not sure if this is in stockinette or garter or both and it would help to see it. I can easily write out the rows for you (although, always a good exercise to try yourself) but they aren’t working out for me and I’d like to see the finished object to ensure I’ve got them right.

I’m scratching my head too, but think they mean:

1. Cast on 15 stitches (I bet they were thinking long-tail cast-on.) Purl across (that would put the cast-on “right side out” if you know what I mean.)
  2. K4, kfb, k4, kfb, k4, kfb, k to end=18 sts.