Knitting on circular needles

I am very new at knitting and I’m trying to follow a pattern that’s asking for me to knit on a 16" circular needle. I am using the boye interchangeables, but no combination of needle and tip works to be 16". The smallest cable is a 12" cable. When I went and put the tips on, it ends up being 19 1/4 inches, as each tip is about 4". What do I do???

That is the biggest downfall of the interchangeable sets, in my opinion. You just can’t get a circular small enough to comfortably knit hats and other things of that size. You may need to buy a 16" needle, which I know is very frustrating since you’ve spent all the money on the Boye set.

you mean buying just one circular needle (not part of a set) that is 16" from tip to tip?

You can also try the magic loop technique if you don’t want to buy new needles. Or sometimes even though a pattern calls for a 16" you can still use a larger circular if the stitches can spread out.

hmmm. not sure about the magic loop. I know that the cable I have says 16", but it’s obviously longer with the needles on it. So, it doesn’t matter the length of the cable itself, but the length as a whole? It seems rather confusing…

I don’t want to have to buy a circular needle, especially since this pattern calls for me to switch to larger needles after the ribbed waistband… then I’d have to buy two… :frowning:

Yep, just use a longer cable and use the Magic Loop technique. Works like a charm.

does anyone have a link on where I could learn more about the magic loop? Is it difficult for a super-newbie?