Knitting Newbie; Mittens

Well, first off hellooooo knitting world! :stuck_out_tongue: I’m new to both the site and knitting itself, so I figured I should introduce myself. My name’s Casey, I’m 19 and I started knitting about a month ago. Between going to college for Massage Therapy and working at a fabric store, I’ve really got nothing to do. Enter knitting, woohoo!

ANYWAY… my question…
So, I’ve got the whole “knitting in the round” thing down - I’ve made three hats so far (much to my surprise- I didn’t think any of them would come out! Yay!), and a… .weird experimental fingerless glove thing I made at 3 in the morning. Which was so haphazardly put together in the first place I can’t even remember what the heck I did to get it 'finished’
I’m trying to work on mittens, but I don’t understand how to do the thumb! I’ve asked and asked people at yarn stores… I guess it’s really one of those things that you have to see to understand, because they have a very hard time trying to tell me. Especially for me, being a visual learner.
Most of the patterns I’ve come across for mittens are… very hard for me to understand when it comes to “shaping the thumb” or “forming the thumb gusset”… and I can’t for the life of me wrap my mind around what they mean!
Take, for instance, the Lopi Mittens pattern here. It describes how to do the cuff and the body, but then it jumps into shaping the thumb… and I’m sitting here re-reading the darn thing about 20 or so times thinking '…do I just… do that? Or do I have to like…put stitches aside…?‘
And then I get insanely frustrated and just knit a scarf. I’ve got about 13 or so scarves I’ve done out of my "I’m sick of these freakin’ mittens!" rampages.
It’s probably something really simple, I realize. But I just can’t visualize going diagonal when I’m knitting in the round. It’s a tube! How am I going to make a hole in the side of it for a thumb? AAAHHH!!
I just want toasty hands. :pout: