Knitting needles and panic! :(

Hello!!

Again I hope I’m not being annoying :stuck_out_tongue:

I am a beginner and just about to start on a second project. I am having problems with the needles - I just bought a set of bamboo circular needles, but I am wondering if you could give me advice as to whether these are the right choice or whether I should consider other options.

I went for these as for my first project I was using aluminium needles, but they were a bit too long and cumbersome for me to use. Now, the circular needles are quite short - I started trying them out last night and my yarn gets quite lose as it rides down on the needle into the plastic bit…I’m wondering if maybe these are the wrong ones to use?

I just need a bit of support as I’m feeling a bit discouraged at the moment - I see other people’s work and I feel like mine was rubbish and like I want to dismantle the scarf I made because it’s useless! :frowning: :frowning: I know I should stick with it and keep trying but I just want to know that this is normal and I’m not completely getting everything wrong…

So, what needles do you prefer, and/or what needles would you suggest I use?

Breathe. :slight_smile: Everyone’s first project is rubbish. Mine looks like a potholder made by a demented kindergartener. Yours can’t be worse.

What needles are preferred is pretty subjective. Variables include everything from how tightly you knit to what kind of yarn you’re using to what you’re actually making. If you’re just starting out, what you’re using is fine until you get some idea of how all those variables shake out for you. Asking all of us what we prefer might just get you more overwhelmed than you need to be right now.

As for your circular needles, the yarn has to be loose as it goes around the cable part or it won’t be able to go back over the needle when it comes time to knit those stitches. Your stitch needs to be the diameter of the needle, not the cable.