Knitting method poll

Here is a question…

Continental-er here.

You’re from New Haven? I used to live in Ft. Wayne. Small world!

I learned to crochet many years ago and held the yarn in my left hand so when I started knitting I did that, too (continental). HOWEVER, I was just not comfortable with it especially when purling so I tried english and after a little learning period I’ve become very comfortable with it.

English, although I did try continental last night and got meself into a right curfuffle.

I’d love to do continental - it looks so smooth and fun to do. I’ll try again one day!

I learned the English style, but since I crocheted forever before I knitted, it just made more sense to learn how to knit Continental, and I have been doing it that way for about 3 years (been knitting for 4). Like Amy says, it is the fastest when going from knit to purl stitches.

I knit Welsh…

I taught myself from a book and ended up doing a left-handed English type thing even though I’m right-handed. So I learned Continental a few months ago and never looked back! Tons faster than what I was doing previously, and the tension is much better.

I knit continental. :smiley:

I knit continental. I’ve tried knitting English, but continental is just so much faster and easier for me.

I’m a combination–I knit continental, but I throw the yarn when I purl. Isn’t it cool that we can all do it however we want and still get the same results? I love that! :slight_smile:

:??

combination knitting (for more than 45 years.) before ann modisett and all the other wrote about it.

i knew it for years as Spanish, and Latvian… since the only other i knew who knit like me were Spanish and Latvian… (thank god i live in NYC where there is such a melting pot, i actually got to know spanards and latvians!)

:??[/quote]