Knitting is too Unforgiving

I am still fairly new to knitting and I like it… for the most part. I have more experience with crochet, so maybe that has jaded me a bit with respect to knitting. However, this is what really bugs me… undoing knitting is a royal pain in the arse. I can frog crochet all day and restart at almost any point where I screwed up. Knitting? Not so much. I just spent the last 15 minutes knitting a cable pattern into a scarf that I have been working on. I somehow increased my stitches. I have no idea how and it took such a freakishly long time to undo.

I tried to just work backwards to the increase. The stitches alternate P-K so the yarn is never in the same place twice. Confusing. Not to mention, undoing the stitches requires trying to figure out which strand to stick the needle behind. I got it all twisted and couldn’t see what I was doing - even with my glasses off and the work 2 inches away from my face. So rip it out.

I had to go back to a known stitch point, so I went all the way back to the 4 stitch cable. I think that wound up being 8 rows I ripped out. If it were crochet, I would have only gone back to the screwed up stitch, picked up my loop and continued. Knitting is just too unforgiving.

I’d like someone to convince me not to just finish this scarf, bind off, and drop knitting completely. Why would I want to keep punishing myself with this? I can crochet the cable stitch. I agree that it’s not as pretty, but it’s also not as much of a freakin headache.

What are your thoughts on the subject?

Hey thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s always good to hear about people’s preferences and why.

I prefer knitting and yes, frogging it is a huge pain sometimes, but I prefer more patterns and designed you can do with knitting.