Knitting in two colors and casting on?

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum so I’d like to introduce myself. My name is Heather and I’m a novice knitter. I stopped for a long time and have recently got back into it with gusto. :XX:

I was hoping one of you would be able to help me move on to my next skill – knitting with two colors. I’m just not sure where to start and I’ve watched the how to videos but I can’t seem to get past casting on… Do I cast on both colors of yarn (for example, 6 stitches in one color and 6 in the other)?

I’m sure that once I figure out how to start the project, I’ll be able to get through it. Thanks in advance for any help. :thumbsup:

I was going to post the same question! I plan to play around and try to figure that out, so if I come up with the answer I will let you know. But I still would like to hear from the knitting experts.

It depends on when the colors come into play in the pattern. If you’re doing Fair Isle (stranded), you usually cast on with only one color and introduce the other colors as needed. If you’re doing intarsia, again, you introduce the color as needed.

I supposed if you were making stripes that started at the cast on, you could cast on both colors, but I’m not sure what method would be best since I haven’t done that.

Ingrid, I was planning on a scarf with two colors to start at the cast on, so I will try that today. However for some reason I am visualizing three scarfs on one needle instead of one… so we’ll see.[color=indigo][/color]

I think if you do a cable cast on, the colors will join on the needle initially, and you’ll have to use a separate strand for each one and have ends to weave in from each. It you do long-tail, you probably will have a gap on the cast on row.

Or you could knit it horizontally. :wink: