Knitting in the Round on Circulars

Ok, I’m not really sure how to ask this question. :oops:

First of all, I am working on this pattern.

It is my first time knitting with circulars. (I’m also working on a Caps to the Capital hat, but it’s on DPN’s, and I haven’t gotten past the ribbing yet.) Anyway, so I just finished the ribbing, and now I’m just plain knitting for 3.5". I know that when you knit in the round on circulars, you automatically get stockinette stitch, right? Ok, so here’s my question. Which way is my “tube” of knitting supposed to be: in towards me, or out towards my knees? I am so confused because as I’m knitting, I notice that the right side of the fabric is facing towards me, and I thought that when making something tube shaped on circulars it was supposed to be facing downwards towards my knees. I don’t know what I did wrong. :shrug:

Am I knitting inside out? How is that possible? Did I do something wrong, and if so, how can I fix it? I’ll be really bummed if I messed up cuz I’ve worked on this all day. :pout:

Thanks in advance guys!

Look near the bottom of this page. It shows you how to tell whether you’re knitting inside-out.

well most people say that the needle tips should be pointing towards you and the cable away ( don’t really visualize this concept well but i guess i do it since i always end up with the “v” pattern on the outside) Generally when you are doing this, you should see the Vs on the outside. If you don’t and haven’t closed anything up or anything like that, you should be able to turn the work inside out and keep going. The way i remember how to hold the needles best for myself is that the working yarn should be coming off the right hand needle.

does that help?

Crap! I’ve been knitting with the cable towards my body, and the needles away! :doh: But I don’t understand…the working yarn is coming off my right needle. I knit continental…does that make a difference?

Oh I’m so confused. :frowning: