Knitting in the round... badly

So…

I am very new to knitting, and am attempting my first hat which is also my first time knitting in the round. I brilliantly also chose a pattern that has an awesome lace effect and is requiring that I learn new stitches. The problem is that now that I’m at the lace part, I’m finishing a round at an odd place in the pattern and I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong.

For example, the last round I did was supposed to be as follows:

*p1, k7, k2tog, k2, yo, k2, p1, k2, yo, k2, ssk, k7, rep. from * to end rnd

It was all well and good except that when I had one more stitch before my stitch marker signalling the end of that round, I was supposed to be doing the ssk portion… but I only had one more stitch. It seems like I should have ended after the second k7 chunk. Any thoughts or suggestions?

At this point, I’m wondering if I should knit through the ssk and k7 and then start the pattern for the next row/round. Or scrap it and go back to the first chunk in this section of the pattern and try again.

Thanks for any help and suggestions you might offer!

Hi and welcome to KH!
Sounds like a pretty pattern. No wonder you wanted to make it.
The repeat takes 28sts so you could put in markers every 28sts to keep yourself on track. Use a different color from the end of round marker.
Make sure that you’re doing each of the stitches correctly. The yarn over doesn’t use up a stitch. You move the yarn to the front between the needles, then over the right hand needle to the back. That’s it.
You might try out the pattern on a 28stitch swatch just to make sure that you have it all worked out.

Stitch markers are a great idea, I’ll have to go get more of them.

I grabbed another set of needles and a variegated yarn so I could more easily identify where I might be messing up, did another attempt and ended up with the same problem. I have the correct stitch count at the end, but I finished at an ssk instead of a knit stitch. I must be losing it!