Knitting help

Hello I am new to knitting, all I really know how to do it knit a basic scarf with knit, pearl stitches. I wanted to try a triangle scarf and found the pattern I like, it is something like this

I am meant to cast on 7 stitches and work from there. (increasing 1 st at each end, and 1 st each side of centre stitch, every RS row) something like this:

(RS) K2, yo, k to centre stitch, yo, k1, yo, k to 2 sts before end of row, yo, k2.
(WS) K2, p to 2 sts before end of row, k2.

When I read K to center stitch I became absolutely dumbfounded. Is anyone able to explain to me where I find the center stitch?

Thanks,
Amy :slight_smile:

and then says something like this

If you’ve cast on 7, then stitch 4 will be your center stitch. You can put a little piece of yarn on there to mark it if you like

After you work the first row, the center stitch will become clear because there will be an eyelet on each side of it from the yo’s.

Thank you so much I was looking all over the net trying to work out what they meant by the center stitch. And all i had to do was halve the amount of stitches!!!

You have been a great help!!

If you have 7 sts cast on, it’s the 4th stitch from the end, the middle st. Put a marker before that stitch so it will be easy to see when you comt to that center st. The marker can be as simple as a small circle of scrap yarn in a contrasting color.

I also have one more question, when it says to increase a stitch ever rs row when would I do this at the beginning or the end? I am already meant to increase at the end so would that then mean to do it in the beginning of the row?

(increasing 1 st at each end, and 1 st each side of centre stitch, [U]every RS row[/U]) something like this:

(RS) K2, [U]yo[/U], k to centre stitch, [U]yo[/U], k1, [U]yo[/U], k to 2 sts before end of row, [U]yo[/U], k2.