Knitting heel flap? i'm a newbie

i’m knitting socks and i don’t quite understand how you would put a certain amount of stitches on one dpn to knit the heel flap. if anyone could explain it to me, i’d greatly appreciate it. (:

you are going to be knitting flat, not in the round for the heel flap.

It depends on the pattern you are using, some have you knit the stitches onto one needle some have you slip them, and some have you slip the ones you don’t want off. Just follow what it say… like Ingrid says, trust the pattern… and watch Amy’s video. At the beginning she shows the heel flap, seeing it may help.

this question was just answered last week…
see here

basicly, the [B]B[/B]egining [B]O[/B]f [B]R[/B]ound ([B]BOR[/B]) is [I]center back “seam”[/I]-(not really a seam, just an imaginary one!)

when making the heel flap, you position stitches so BOR is in the center of the flap, (after the heel is turned, and gussets are picked up, the stitches get ‘repositioned’ so the BOR is between needle 1 and needle 3 (4)–and the ‘center seam’ (invisible…not really a seam…) is on the center of the sole (bottom of sock)–the center front of sock is center front of instep

(so if you sock has 60 stitches, Stitch 1 (BOR) is center of sole, and stitch 30 (half way point) is Center front)
[B]
This IS GENERALLY TRUE[/B] for sock designed to be knit on DPN.–about 90 to 95% of the sock patterns out there will follow this rule!

(sock knit on 2 circ’s or via Magic loop generally have BOR on the side, not on center back–again a general rule (not a law!) )

in the end, it doesn’t really matter where the BOR is, --it just serves as a landmark/reference point for directions!–

you’ll have to ‘reposition’ the stitches again when you complete the toe… (since its not really possible to graft starting in the middle of the toe…Instead, you’ll knit to a side (not a seam… but a fold) and graft from side A to side B (with the BOR “seam” in the center point!)