Knit sweater

I am new to knitting. I am learning to knit by seeing you tube. I crochet since last 5 years. Knitters normally put video of knit cardigan or sweater pattern. But how to shape neck and arm hole. Nobody gives this help. Can you please help of I show the pattern video.

Welcome!
What is the name of your pattern?
You can post a couple of rows that are giving you a problem if you’d like. Don’t post large portions of the pattern due to copyrights, however.

1 Like

I can make out that it is a pattern stitch used for a sweater. The image appears to show a Hindi language video by ‘knit with me’ on youtube.
Here is an English language version I found.

3 Likes

Thank you. Will try in small sample. I will try. Just needed some idea how neck is shaped.

Thanks. I have to use this! Maybe a pillow.

While there are plenty of ways to make sweaters I find top down raglan to be the most easy one to do. If you have not begun making a sweater yet, maybe this could be something for you. I think you should be able to find several videos about it on youtube. Here is my current work in progress:

tr%C3%B6ja

(It is difficult to see from the picture but I have actually shaped the neck hole so the back side is several cm wider than the front side.)

For a top down raglan you need to know these things:

• Cast on (both for the neck ribbing and for the armpits. I would use a provisional cast on for the armpits so I get a completely seamless join)
  • Knit and purl stitches to form the ribbing and for the optional next step
  • Optionally short rows for making the back of the neck hole a bit higher than the front. I did use it even though it is not visible in my picture.
  • Increases (which are made on both side of the markers)
  • Decreases for the arms
  • Cast off for both the bottom of the sweater and the arm cuffs
3 Likes