Knit birthday card?

i have been invited to a birthday party, and the catch is that you must bring a hand-made birthday card. well, being a knitter (and no good at other crafts), i thought it could be fun to actually knit a card. the party is on friday, so i will probably only have time to do a two-sided card (as opposed to one that opens).

i was thinking of knitting two squares (or rectangles) of the same size, and then sewing up the four sides with a piece of foam-core or some other rigid material in-between. i am not sure what i’ll do for a design yet, but it will probably be something simple, as i am not very experienced in knitting with multiple colors (other than striping).

so, i was wondering if anyone here had ever done such a thing. i found a thread in which people had discussed using a small knit piece as a decoration for a hand-made card, but i couldn’t find anything about cards that were entirely knitted (nothing on google, either).

any suggestions? i was thinking of using stockinette stitch, since the rigid center would prevent any curling after everything is sewn up - does that sound good?

i like it! I would knit the stockinet and then embroider the message! Sounds like so much fun!

i have never embroidered before! do you mean with thin thread or using the same weight yarn that i am using for the actual card? i have a feeling that, since i’ve never done it, it would probably take me more time than i have to do so. i was thinking of doing something via intarsia.

What a cool idea!

I would probably do it on card stock then knit a little swatchy, glue it on there & put something about “close-knit” friends. Simple and sweet!

Let me know how it turns out- however you manage it!

ETA- you could duplicate stitch a message- using a different color of the same weight yarn- just going over top of each stitch until it says or makes the picture you want.