Knit and Purl confusion!

Hi everyone :slight_smile: I’m new here, my name’s Chloe. I have knitted for a while now but have progressed very slowly with my knitting. The last week I have decided to really spend time on improving, I am doing lots of practice squares from my knitting book, have bought a range of needles and yarns and am really enjoying it. I can now add colours and simple things like that.

I haven’t really contributed much to the forum yet because well, being an extreme beginner I don’t really have much advice to give, haha. But I will give my two cents and encouragement where I can :slight_smile:

Anyway. I feel there is one main problem in my knitting technique that holds me back from progressing, and it is the confusion over knit and purl stitches in patterns. I came here searching for answers and found a sticky thread about mysterious stitch increases. This response by “foldedbird” literally sums up my problem:

"Another thing that might be happening: if you’re switching from Knit to Purl within a row make sure you always have the yarn in the back to knit and in the front to purl. Don’t forget to put that yarn back where it goes each time…if you don’t, you will add stitches…eeek!

And the most important thing of all…THIS HAPPENS TO EVERYONE in the beginning! I increased stitches for weeks before I knew people actually did it on purpose, LOL! "