K5to3?

I’m new to knitting and am LOVING this site. However I just tried to google k5to3 and k3to2 - both of which are in a beautiful pattern for a shawl I just found and I am clueless as to how to achieve this. The only explanation I found on the pattern was: knit 5 sts into 3 sts (and also knit 3 sts into 2 sts). I’m guessing this involves some knitting in front and back parts of the stitches, but that’s only a guess. Anyone have any experience with these? Thanks so much.

OK, looking further at the page previous to the PDF file, there was some explanation:

“Knit 3 stitches together without slipping them off the left needle and knit 5 stitches out of this loop as in making the bobble, but without pulling the stitches longer than usual. Purl all strands individually on WS row to have 5 stitches. The k2to3 is made similarly.”

but I don’t understand how to knit 5 stitches out of the loop while the initial 3 stitches are still on the left needle. Is the new stitch on the right needle while adding the 5 stitches to it? ???

What is the name of the pattern and if you have a link it would be helpful.

It sounds to me like you must have to increase twice to make 5, etc. But I’ve never heard of this type of bobble before… :think:

The loop should be slipped back onto the left needle before you knit the 5 sts out of it. When you do this it looks like a knitted cast on where you place the loop made from one st back onto the left needle and then knit into it again, only here the loop is from a k3tog. Then, instead of knitting once into the new loop, you can knit, yo, knit, yo, knit into the loop.

I don’t agree with salmonmac that you put the new st back on the L needle, you don’t mess with the new sts at all.