Jgeduldig

My husband is an Ohio State Univ. fan and I am trying to knit an afghan for him with a block “O” in the middle of the afghan. In working the “O”, I need to use 5 different bobbins. I have never worked with bobbins before and occasionally I will get a hole in the area where I switch from one color to the next. Since I don’t get holes every time I switch bobbins, I don’t know what I am doing wrong. Can anyone tell me how to correctly switch bobbins without creating a hole in my knitting?

When you change colors, you need to ‘twist’ the stitches on the wrong side. A simple way to do this is to hold the strand that you’re finishing over to the left so that the hanging strand for the next color is under it. Knit the first new-color stitch and drop the old color bobbin.

Do this hold-to-the-left on top of hanging yarn every time and they will twist automatically, so you won’t get holes.

Ingrid, I was away for the week-end and wasn’t able to respond to your thread. Thank you so much for your information on how to switch bobbins when using multiple colors. I guess that sometimes I was doing it the right way and sometimes the wrong way and that is why I wasn’t getting holes in my knitting all the time. I have ripped out a bit of my afghan and have taken a short break before I attempt my “O” again. I will let me know how your advice worked. Once again, thanks for taking the time to help me.

My husband and I are HUGE Ohio State Fans! Go Bucs!!

Is the afghan you’re making from a pattern or is it something you made yourself? I’ve been looking for a project to make the hubby. Where did you find the pattern? Could you point me in the direction?