In the Round Question

I just started a new project and its my first time In the Round knitting. This might be a silly question but… here goes anyway:

I’m using a 6mm, 29 in needle. As I go along knitting (careful not to twist the yarn… I’m being super careful), will the round part of the needle ever uncurl and just be a circle or will it forever be curled up, even as I’m working on my 80th row??? I’m just making sure I’m not making a mistake…

Hopefully that made sense! Thanks in advance for your advice.

Not a silly ? at all. Whether the cable will uncurl or not depends on the width of your project. If it’s wide, its weight will eventually hold it straighter. But not if it’s narrow. Here’s a link to straightening that cable:
http://danceswithwool.wordpress.com/2008/02/01/knitting-tips-straightening-circular-needle-cables/

And here’s a link to a simple storage system that will avoid it curling up again:
http://danceswithwool.wordpress.com/2008/01/16/knitting-tips-no-sew-circular-needle-holder/

:star:

Some needles need to be straightened. It’s likely that at some point the weight of the knitting will help hold it, but before using a curly needle, it’s good to dip in very hot water and then hold it straight to cool. You may have to do it a couple of times in a row.

This is why I like Addi’s and Knit Picks Options needles–the cords are soft and flexible and never curl. Just a point for future needle purchases.:thumbsup:

Thanks for those links! Thats extremely helpful!

Unfortunately, I’ve already started knitting… should I keep going and hope for the best or since I’m only on row 4 should I frog it and straighten it with the hot water??

Ingrid, I’ll defintely be on the look out for those never-curl needles!

I don’t think I would want to fight a curly needle for a whole project. If you are on the 4th round you could frog it or you could put the stitches on another circular or even a piece of yarn and then fix your needle and then go back to your present needle.