I just set a dead human

I’m a bench jeweler. I just had an envelope that said “life” diamond.

I called the account to confirm what I thought. It was someone’s dead husband that was turned into a diamond.

I think this is the second dead person I’ve worked on. It’s never as creepy doing it as it seems when thinking about it.

I’ve heard about those. Do they really look like diamonds? I was curious about the hardness and how they would cut.

I would so do that but my husband is skinny so the diamond would be puny. I’d have to fatten him up a bit to get more carbon. :roflhard:

never heard of them, but omg i cant imagine wanting to wear someone like that. that just sounds kinda creepy to me. says the woman that has her grans ashes in her wadrobe lol

I’ve seen this on TV and they are actually pretty and looked pretty normal to me at least from my vantage point. I’m not sure I’d want to do it, but it’s cool that they can.

Sorry, but I find the whole idea bizarre and disrespectful of the dead.

Very, very bizarre in fact.

:roflhard: :roflhard: :roflhard:

Other than the color and clarity both being too perfect you can’t tell the difference, not even with a tester.

I think normally humans are blue but now they can make them other colors. This one was yellow and the cut was not that great.

As for disrespect, I don’t think anyone who gets them thinks of it that way. It’s more of a way to have a memory that lasts forever.
I’ve always thought of it as being creepy but both times it was just like any other diamond setting, although with a little more pressure because while maybe not a irreplaceable diamond it’s not like I can call up and have a replacement sent out next day if it would break.
If people would treat it as just another diamond that would take some of the pressure off me.

I looked into the price before and providing your own carbon to get a man made diamond does not save money over buying a natural diamond.
It’s definitely about remembering the dead.