I finished my very first project!

I’m working on a small purse that was going to be my first project, but last night I decided to attempt a newborn hat for a girlfriend of mine due in December. I’m still learning the basics and I learned a few lessons while doing this hat.
Lesson #1 ~ Watch for dropped stitches WHILE you’re knitting. :wink:
Lesson #2 ~ When switching from knit to purl you have to MOVE the yarn. :rollseyes:
Lesson #3 ~ Work on my sewing of seams.
Ahem ~ so minus the mistakes I’m very proud! It turned out looking like a hat, whew, and even my mother was astonished!

Great job!! Congratulations!!! :cheering: :cheering:

Congrats!! :cheering: :cheering: Looks great!

cute cute CUTE CUTE!!! I LOVE baby stuff!!!

congrats on your first project…it looks WONDERFUL!! Great things to come from now on… :heart: :heart:

:thumbsup: Great job!!

:happydance: :cheering:

Looks great! Just dive right in is the way to learn :slight_smile:

:cheering: :happydance: :cheering: :happydance: :cheering:

WTG!

HOW CUTE! What a cute first project!

Let me give you a tip on how not to drop stitches, never set your needles down in the middle of a row. In three years of knitting I have only dropped stitches twice and its only happened on projects Ive had on circular needles.

My kids know to stand patiently and wait till I finish the row, and that I only put my knitting down if someone is unconsious or bleeding profusely. “Until I finish this row.” Even my three year old can quote it.

Where did you get the pattern?

Candace

That’s a cute hat and I’m sure your friend will be thrilled and impressed! :wink:

Yay for you :balloons: I’m impressed, my first hat project didn’t look nearly as good as yours!

:cheering: :cheering: :cheering:

I got the pattern from here ~ http://brookowens.blogspot.com/2005/09/knit-baby-hat.html
It’s an adorable hat, but as you can tell, mine looks nothing like hers. :shock:
Not sure what else I did wrong for that to happen! :roflhard: