I dropped one! :(

I’m currently knitting a scarf in two colors for a friend of mine, and I just now realized that I dropped a stitch in a row. The problem is, I’ve already switched colors and it’s far enough back that to frog it might be more trouble than it’s worth.

Advice would be great. Should I just rip back and start over again, or is there a way to fix it without taking out about twelve rows?

Well, if it’s only 12 rows I’d probably take it out. Dropping a stitch affects your stitch count and will affect the pattern unless you are just doing stripes. If you aren’t bothered by it you can secure it bring up a few rows then secure it with a safety pin and put a piece of yarn through it and then weave it in later.

Thanks, Jan. I did end up taking out the rows to get to the spot, and I’m now back on track. I think I’m conquering this thing finally, very slowly :slight_smile:

I’m just a beginner and I found when knitting my first jumper that it’s just too easy when you make a mistake to simply toss away what you’ve completed and start all over again.

With my first jumper, I started with ribbing and then went on to a moss-stitch but four times, I threw away several hours of work when I found mistakes.

But, when I discovered I’d reversed three rows - well into the back of the jumper - I refused to begin all over so I ended up unpicking more than 300 stitches.

Well, the back is almost finished and I can assure you I did not make the mistake again. Sure, there were the odd stitches here and there that I had to correct, but from the effort of unpicking, I learned something - i.e. firstly, to be more careful and, importantly, to recognise stitch patterns that guided me along each alternate row.

Would I ever toss anything away again and start all over? No!

Good for both of you for keeping at it. :thumbsup: