I can't work out this pattern panel

42%20PM

Hi there. I managed to find this lovely pattern at the Red Cross book sale in my town a couple months ago and finally managed to get the yarn to do it! I started on the back, finished up the ribbing and then started the lace panel pattern. However I seem to have run into some trouble on it. For starters, the ‘work y.fwd, K1 twice’ (Row 3, panel pattern 71) is confusing me a little as it’s set out differently to what seems to be a similar thing in row 1 - (y.fwd, K1) 4 times. Along with that I always end up finishing the panel row 3 a few stitches before the end of the previous row. I’ve gone over and over the pattern heaps but I cannot for the life of me work it out. I’ve been knitting for about 8 years now but I’m only 16 so I haven’t been doing the difficult stuff for that long. It’s a big ask I know, but I was wondering if anyone could help out with this? I’m making it for a friend who’s gotten me through some really tough times and I’d hate to give up on it. It’s a Patons pattern so it should work and I must just be doing something wrong, I just can’t figure out what. Any help would be so so so appreciated.

Hi, For the back,it looks like you will continue the ribbing either side of the ‘lace panel pattern 71’ yes? After the ribbed welt and changing needles the pattern says to continue in rib and place the lace panel as follows:1st row (RS) Rib (the amount of stitches indicated for the size you are making), then you work the lace panel pattern 71 ROW 1 across the center back sts and then rib the last corresponding amount of stitches.Row 2 is: rib the ribbed stitches, then work row 2 of the lace panel, then rib the last sts. There are 8 rows to the lace pattern so you will continue ribbing the first and last (x amount) of stitches and working the lace pattern rows in between.