I can't do the decrease math!

I started learning to knit a few years ago, just before a bad accident that partially crippled my right hand. Thankfully, I’m back to it and I’ve gotten many of the simpler pieces, including a pretty shawl done.

But now I’m trying to knit a sleeveless summer shell. There are only 4 ongoing rows to get started (and 2 and 4 are the same) so even w/yos, ssk and some other abbreviations I’m fine.

But now has come the armhole…and I’m confused. I know what it means to inc or dec and this part is dec, but how do maintain the pattern?

Here’s Row 1 (RS): K2, p1, k1, *k1, k2tog, yo, ssk, k1, p1, k1, p1; rep from *to last 11 its then k1, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ask, k2, p1, k2.

What happens once the 1st 4 sts are gone? I have the asterisked sections (10 sts each) separated with markers, but what happens when I get into the first marked group, that k2tog?

I have a friend who’s been knitting 50 years and she showed me the first couple of rows, but now that I’m in row 3 (almost the same as 1) I don’t understand what happens when I start “invading” the sections. (She’s not available for a while.)

Should I change the markers? Remove them to try and eliminate confusion?

BTW, I’ve seen many formulas here and elsewhere…but I’m sorry, I’m darned if I understand them! The creative side of brain is doing well, but the math side…never really there. :slight_smile:

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
Is this the exact quote of Row 1? In the repeat there’s already a decrease, a k2tog and ssk with only one yarn over.

If there is a missing yarn over here to balance toe decrease, then you would have a pairs of increases (yarn overs) and decreases (either a k2tog or ssk). When you decrease for the pattern keep these pairs in mind. If you disrupt one of the pair, you interrupt both.