How to reshape sleeve cap and armholes when row gauge is off

I’m knitting a cardigan with shaped armholes and sleeve caps on the sleeves. I’ve never done this sort of sleeve before…

The pattern calls for 18 rows/10 cm and I’m really off as I have 22 rows/10 cm. If I follow the directions for increases and decreases on the sleeves, sleeve caps and armholes, my cardigan will look different from the original, and I’m afraid the shoulders and upper sleeves will be too tight.

So I have to do some reshaping. I think I know how to do it but I’d grately apreciate some hints and some “don’t forget to think about…” before I start the actual knitting… Tips, anyone? :smiley:

It just takes doing a little math. If you’re nervous, you can draw it out.

Let’s say your pattern calls for an increase on the first and every 6th row for a total of 10 increases. If x’s are increases and -'s are rows without increases, it looks like

x-----x-----x-----x-----x-----x-----x-----x-----x-----x

and you can see there’s 55 rows involved. At the required gauge of 4.25 rows to the inch, the shaping is taking place over (55 divided by 4.25) 13 inches. Thirteen inches of rows at 5.25 to the inch is going to be (13 times 5.25) 68.25 rows. So you need to somehow squeeze in 13 extra rows.

If you’re a perfectionist, you also need to find a way to accept that you can’t knit a row that’s one quarter the normal height, and so your sleeve will be one eighth of an inch shorter than the pattern. .

Inserting one extra row between each decrease gets us to 64 rows.

x------x------x------x------x------x------x------x------x------x

Look at the picture of the finished item and decide where the last four rows should be slipped in. If it’s just the average run o’ the mill sleeve, the increase can be more gradual at the start, so we can put one extra row between the first 5 increases:

x-------x-------x-------x-------x------x------x------x------x------x