How to knit critters?

Hi-
I’m new to knitting…I want to knit toys for my new grandson. I need a book to get started with that will teach me what I need to know so I can follow these patterns from etsy

Can someone refer a how-to-book?

oops…since this is my first post the site won’t allow the link. I will follow up with one now. Sorry!

Thank you!
Kristy

ok…here is the thread for the pattern I want to learn.

What exactly are you asking? Are you a new knitter? These are crochet patterns not knit. Is that what you want to do or do you want to knit? What type of pattern are you looking for? There are tons of toy patterns.

Oh…you can see how new I am to this!Her auctions on etsy said they were knitted and crocheted…I’m too novice to be able to tell by looking at them which are the knitted ones-I definitely want to knit.
What I need is a starting point to learn how to knit stuffed animals…fun ones like on the etsy link. I also want to knit teenie tiny hats, scarves, dresses for my 7" needle sculpted dolls.
So I need a good book for it. I just want to get the right one(s) so I get a good beginning education.So I’d probably need more than one book…one to learn (I like lotsa pictures)knitting and one to knit animals & one for tiny doll clothing.
Thank you for answering!
Kristy

Okay, so knitting. :wink: I don’t know of any books, but a good place to start is the library and Amazon. With Amazon you can search many and often see inside them to see what is in the book as well as how they are written. Personally, I think I’ve only done one or two patterns from books. I prefer to look things up on Ravelry then just buy or download the pattern I want.

Since you are a beginner I suggest first practicing knitting and purling. Very small items like you mentioned and stuffed animals with tiny arms, etc will probably require you to use double pointed needles (DPN) so you need to comfortable with the basics first. Just use some plain worsted weight (#4) yarn and start knitting.