How to increase in pattern for a sleeve?

Hi All,

This is my first post; however, I’ve already learned a lot by reading the explanations and help on this forum and by viewing the knitting videos - so first things first… Thank you! I love this website!

I am a novice knitter, and am a bit confused by the pattern instructions I’m following for increasing a sleeve. I’ve read posts with similar questions to mine (and I apologize for repeating the questions). I think I understand in theory what I’m supposed to do, but I’d like to check on the details.

Here’s the part of the pattern that I’m on:

Rib Pattern (multiple of 6 sts plus 5)
Row 1 (RS): *K5, p1; rep from *, end k5.
Row 2: K1, p3, k1, *k2, p3, k1, rep from * to end.
Rep rows 1 and 2 for rib pattern

Sleeves
(I’ve already cast on 53 sts and worked k2, p1 rib for 1 1/2"…) Change to larger needles and work in rib pat, inc 1 st each side (working inc sts into rib pat), every other row 5 times, every 4th row 8 times - 79 sts.

Here are my questions:

1. Should I increase on the following rows: 2, 4, 6, 8 , 10; then 14, 18, 22, 26, 30, 34, 38, 42?

2. How do I work the increases into the pattern? Should I expand outward, but always retain a K stitch on each end, or just keep expanding outward regardless of whether a K or P is on the edge?

For example, would the stitches look like this on the first 5 rows?:

Row1 (53 sts): KKKKKPKKKKKP…PKKKKK
Row2 (55 sts): [color=red]K[/color]KPPPKKKPPPKKK… PPPK[color=red]K [/color]
Row3 (55 sts): [color=red]P[/color]KKKKKPKKKKKP…PKKKKK[color=red]P[/color] (or should 1st and last sts be K too?)
Row4 (57 sts): [color=red]KK[/color]KPPPKKKPPPKKK… PPPK[color=red]KK[/color]
Row5 (57 sts): [color=red]KP[/color]KKKKKPKKKKKP…PKKKKK[color=red]PK[/color]
etc.

1. Which type of increases would be best, and where should I insert the increases (I was taught to increase one stitch in from each edge to keep the selvage consistent for seaming)?

Thank you in advance for your help!