How to cast on when knitting in the round

I am trying circular needles for the first time today and I think I might have cast on wrong. My cast on tail is on the left side and my working yarn is on the right. This is because I cast onto my left needle when I knit on straight needles. Will this cause problems when I try to join? I have never done this before and I’m nervous.

That sounds right. Are you doing magic loop or just knitting on circulars that your stitches fill up?

It can be easier to join without twisting the stitches if you knit a couple rows back and forth and then join to knit in the round.

Okay, I’m just doing regular circular knitting. I went for it the way I had already cast on but got nervous because it looked like my hat would be waaay too small and pulled all of the stitches out. However, when I stretched it out after I pulled it off the needles it looked like it would fit okay. I guess it looks tiny on the cable. It doesn’t help that I tend to knit tight so I thought, “this is going to fit a baby, not an adult!” lol

The best thing to do is to knit an inch or so and then see about what size it looks. If you’re doing magic loop you’ll have plenty of cable to slide all the stitches onto to do some stretching of the fabric and maybe even get some measurements. If you have the gauge called for in the pattern you should be good to go. If not, you’ll get a better idea after you’ve done some knitting of just how off you might be. Are you starting in rib? Rib always looks smaller than it really is to me since it’s intended to stretch some in use. With ML I can actually put the piece on my head to see how the fit is shaping up.