How Long Have You Been Knitting?

June marked my 1st-year "Knit"versary. I knitted my first (actually my only) scarf on the way to a soccer tournament in Arkansas. I met a very nice lady at our hotel (parent of a soccer player from a different team). She had been knitting for years and really encouraged me. I was still new and a bit embarrassed to KIP.

I’ve come a looooonnnnnggggg way since then…thanks to all of you! :muah:

Anyhow, my personal reflections led me to wonder how long y’all have been knitting?

I’ve been knitting for 20 years now (i started early, at the age of about 6, thanks to my grandma). I have lots of FO’s that include scarves, tanks and vests, but all of them are simple and freestyle, not a pattern. Only recently, after i’ve discovered KH, i realized the potential in knitting and got it organized. Originally, i started from crochet and knit my dolls stuff, but now i don’t like it anymore… I will get settled and post my old FO’s when i’ll find them :rofling:

Summer 2004 I picked up my first pair of needles and yarn–so I guess I’m celebrating my 3rd year! I’m still such a novice–purling gives me a hard time, so I just knit stitch everything. Scarves are my specialty, baby bibs/burp cloths and baby blankets. I’m a big chicken when it comes to sweaters, detailed patterns and socks!

I started Nov. 1, 2006, and I joined kh on the 6th. when i started, there were so many things i expected to take forever to learn, but now i have figured out that i can pretty much do anythng i have the guts to try. that is thanks to this site and these people.

A bit longer than three years for me. I have ventured into the world of socks, cardigans, baby clothes, tank tops…

For me? Third week of september 2006. I was bored on a friday after my afternoon classes and decided to walk over to Hobby Lobby to get some yarn and needles. I’ve been hooked ever since :slight_smile: