How Long Before You Started Your First Sock?

I’m a total n00b when it comes to knitting, having started only a few weeks ago. I don’t even have a single FO but can’t wait to start knitting my very own first pair of socks. :happydancing: But the thought of having to handle so many sharp pointy sticks at the same time is kinda scary. :oo:

How long have you been knitting before you felt brave or comfortable enough to start on your first pair of socks?

Socks were my second project. I learned a lot and really enjoy doing them. I don’t like doing them on DPNs and much prefer circs and Magic Loop.

IIRC, I started my first sock about 2 months after learning to knit.

about six months after i started knitting! and i love socks, they look great!:inlove:

I’ve been knitting since I was a kid and only just the other day, started a sock! LOL! This is my first time with dpns, too!

It actually took me about six years before I was comfortable enough to knit socks :oops:! But I am a slow learner. And I didn’t discover this website until that point. So you will probably be able to whip a pair of socks up much sooner.

And don’t worry about all of the sharp pointy sticks. It’s just like knitting with two needles when push comes to shove. And they aren’t really THAT pointy. :teehee:

Good luck! :thumbsup:
Rebecca

I started knitting last June. In January, I ordered my set of Options (after reading how everyone had gotten them for Christmas, I just had to check them out).

I also ordered sock yarn with that order. Using Silver’s sock tutorial, I successfully completed my first pair and never looked back! I’ve made several pairs since January.

They look way more intimidating than they actually are. You just have to take it step by step. It’s really not that bad once you understand the structure of the sock.

Socks were the second thing I knit. Took some practice with the
dpn’s but I am a pro now! Sorta :lol: I would definitely recommend