How do you knit a scarf?

Im a beginner at knitting and im having trouble knitting a scarf. Im sure we all know how when you cast on it makes rings on the left needle right? Well i started out with 30 or so of them. And now i have over 50 of them. The scarf doesn’t seem to get longer either. Im doing the basic garter scarf. I know how to knit it and everything and what to do. But it just seems to get wider and wider and wider. Help?

You’re probably making one of the most common beginner mistakes–holding your working yarn up over the left needle and knitting into the two loops of the stitch below the first stitch when you start a new row. That will add one stitch to each row, so it grows wider quickly! If you make sure your working yarn is not over the top of the needle, you’ll do better.

It’s probably growing longer as well, but it seems to take forever when you’re making it wider each time around.

There’s also a “sticky” thread at the top of this board. Look herefor more information.

Also, be sure to watch the videos to get a better idea of how things look.

To honest im not sure what you mean by the thread hanging. I usely have the thread hanging to the right of my right needle. Or its to farthest on the right of anything. And i just loop it around my right needle counterclockwise like it tells me to.

I’m not talking down to you just trying to see if maybe one of these new knitter situations might be what you are having…

As you are knitting… the working yarn, (the one coming from the ball and is attached to the work) is behind your needles. If you inadvertently bring it forward and knit normally you are adding another stitch. This is called yarn over (YO) and is legitimate stitch, but it’s often done by mistake with new knitters.

Also… after you knit a row are you putting turning your work? That means switching hands and starting on the loops again. You need to do that to make the knitting ‘grow’.