How do use those row counters?

I’m pretty new to knitting and I bought a pak of those little cylinder row counters. It says it if for size 6-10.5. How do you use them? :?? Do you connect them to your needles somehow? or is it something that just sits besides you and you have to put down your needles every row and click around one? It makes sense to me to connect to something but I can’t figure out how to do that. Anyone have these and know?

I have put them on the cord of my interchangeable circs before, just to make it convenient, but that wont work if you are knitting in the round. They are yours now, so Id say there are no rules…use them however you like!

well i haven’t used them or really even looked at them, but couldn’t they be used sort of like you would a row marker when knitting in the round? I have been working on a bag that is suppose to have 30 rows when i switch colors and i was thinking that if i had a row counter i could just pass it from one needle to the other and then i would actually remember to click it. do they not work like that? HOnestly i don’t think i would remember to click most of the time if it wasn’t hanging there.

I usually keep mine on one needle, and turn it 2 turns every other row (i.e. at the end of every knit row or the end of every purl row, when working in stockinette). I can’t be bothered to turn it every row. Heck, I tend to avoid projects that require counting, but that’s just me. :wink:

I don’t like those things :stuck_out_tongue: ; sorry :blush: don’t mean to rain on the parade. I got an electronic one from KnitPicks… :heart: :heart: it :smiley:
:oops: sorry, (hanging head)…sometimes I’m bad…
But I do love the electronic row counter :smiley:

I like the look of that electric one, too…Im just trying to find it on SALE!

Are you talking about something like this?