How do I stop this habit

I am new to knitting ( self teaching) and very new to this forum. I notice on my left index finger, the tip is kind of tender due to the fact I push the right needle after I do a knit stitch through the stitch and off the left needle. shouldn’t it just slide off on its own without the added help of my left finger? is my tension not loose enough to do this automatically or is it just a beginner thing that I have to over come by relaxing a bit and just let it go on its own? I have been working on loosening the “death” grip of the left needle and that seems to help, but then the next stitch I am right back to pushing the needle :pensive: Just would like some tips on how to stop this and your experience when you were a beginner. I do enjoy knitting. I am not very fast but have gotten 4" done on a bag I am doing in garter stitch. I speak fluent crochet, but would like to knit and become fluent in knitting. Thank you for the help.

Maybe you are knitting to tight, the stitches should come off easily.

Thank you. That is what I am thinking too. I am going to try to loosen it up.

The more you knit and the more confident you become, the more relaxed you’ll be. Your gauge will be more even and slightly looser and your stitches will slide. You sound as i it’s going pretty well already :slightly_smiling_face:

I am enjoying my lessons. I don’t even mind reminding myself to relax. I did notice I am holding my left hand too close to the end of the needle. I will be working on that tomorrow as well. Thank you for the tips. Sometimes it’s good assurance that you are on the right track :slight_smile:

I use my left index finger to hold the stitch while I pull the new stitch through and then push the old stitch off the left needle. Everyone has their own way of knitting. You have to find what works best for you.