How do I achieve this look?

Hello. I am very new to knitting. Currently I can only do the knit stitch. I am learning now to pearl. Can anyone tell me how to achieve the look of this stitching in the photo? Is it one row pearl, then one row knit?
Thank you

https://m.flickr.com/#/photos/mygomi/71072686/

Welcome to KH. It’s always great to see another new knitter. Yes, that is stockinette stitch which is alternating knit and purl rows. Stockinette curls up so if you want to make something with it, ask how to deal with it before you get enough of a scarf or something going that ripping it out will be :hair: horrendous.

ETA Knitting all rows gives you garter stitch which has ridges on both sides, is reversible, lies flat.

you’re correct - it’s stockinette stitch (abbreviated as st st) which on a flat piece knitted with regular needles, is one row of knits (the front side), then turned, and one row of purls (the back side). on that sample, it looks like they did a slipped stitch edging, which makes for a nicer presentation.

if you wanted this look of stitches and were knitting in-the-round, either on double-point needles or a circular needle, it would just be knit stitches all day long, no purls, as the ‘right’ side would always be facing you. but that’s for another project :wink:

hope you’re enjoying the craft so far!

Thanks for your reply. So how do I prevent the curling?
Do you think it’s best just to stick with the basic knit stitch? I am still really new to knitting. What do you recommend? Also, knitting a scarf with a cotton yarn (less itchy!), would that work out ok?

Gosh I think that is for another project. I’m such a beginner at the moment. Thanks for the reply